Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cam only?

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2007, 09:03 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Cam only?

Does it make sense to change the cam only? I have a 99 SS with a lid, underdrive pully, smooth bellow and skip shift. I am fairly new to the LS1 as I have been a Mustang guy for a loooong time. I want a cam to give my car a "lopey" idle. (Not to mention the power gains)

Anyway, am I starting to mod my car in the wrong areas? I figure it will cost about $750 or so installed? Does that sound right?

Thanks in advance!
Old 01-09-2007, 09:06 PM
TECH Senior Member

Originally Posted by superfastls1
Does it make sense to change the cam only? I have a 99 SS with a lid, underdrive pully, smooth bellow and skip shift. I am fairly new to the LS1 as I have been a Mustang guy for a loooong time. I want a cam to give my car a "lopey" idle. (Not to mention the power gains)

Anyway, am I starting to mod my car in the wrong areas? I figure it will cost about $750 or so installed? Does that sound right?

Thanks in advance!
You want to do all the boltons first(full exhaust and intake at least) and I would recommend that you do heads and cam at the same time so you can match them together so that you can optimize the entire powerband. Typically if you switch just the cam you will lose a bit of low end power which sucks for normal driving on the street. there are quite a few remidies for this and thats why you design the heads and cam, and if possible the block, together.

Last edited by brad8266; 01-09-2007 at 09:50 PM.
Old 01-09-2007, 09:38 PM
TECH Fanatic

exactly what he said
Old 01-09-2007, 09:48 PM
TECH Enthusiast

and above.

A combination is the way to go these days as you can get some really good flowing heads for cheap compared to a few years ago.