Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cam install?

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2007, 01:27 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cam install?

Has anyone on here that is not a mechanic installed a cam on their own? is it really hard to do? anything to watch out for when doing it?

even if you are a mechanic, what are some tips on doing it, if you do it your self?

i want to get a cam for my car, but i dont want to dish out $600 for the install, my brother in law is a mechanic, so he would be able to help.....

any info would help out alot! thanks!
Old 02-13-2007, 02:16 PM
TECH Fanatic

do it yourself, its not that hard at all. Check out the cam/valvespring swap on LS1howto.com

Im not a professional mechanic and did mine by myself, and helped 2 other friends with theres. You said your brother-in-law can help out and is a mechanic so whatever you cant do, im sure he will be able to.
Old 02-13-2007, 04:23 PM
TECH Addict

I also did mine myself. Print out the how to on LS1howto.com and do it like it says. Piece of cake.

It took me all weekend to do mine. I did cam, and springs.
Old 02-14-2007, 02:23 PM
Staging Lane

Originally Posted by shouldaboughttheZ
I also did mine myself. Print out the how to on LS1howto.com and do it like it says. Piece of cake.

It took me all weekend to do mine. I did cam, and springs.
i guess i will give it a shot, would it be easier to do this if i had access to a lift? or is it easy enough to do with the car on the ground?

it took you a weekend to do it? thats not to bad....once it warms up here in chicago, ill give it a shot!
Old 02-14-2007, 05:11 PM
TECH Addict

Originally Posted by Cooper01Z28
i guess i will give it a shot, would it be easier to do this if i had access to a lift? or is it easy enough to do with the car on the ground?

it took you a weekend to do it? thats not to bad....once it warms up here in chicago, ill give it a shot!