Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1.8 rockers vs bigger cam

Old 09-14-2007, 09:18 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 1.8 rockers vs bigger cam

is there any advantage to having 1.8 rockers on a smaller cam over having a bigger cam and staying with the 1.7 rockers?
Old 09-15-2007, 09:48 AM
TECH Apprentice

I am far from an expert on this but I know the 1.8 rockers will give you alittle more lift and duration but cost you a few hundred dollars(300-400 unless you get them used). Why not save that money on the rockers and get the bigger cam and spend the rest else where like on some good springs.
Old 09-15-2007, 10:24 AM
JPH
TECH Junkie

what would be the cam profile you would be using if you decided to put 1.8's on?
Old 09-15-2007, 12:15 PM
Launching!

224/224 around .560 lift with 1.7 rockers. .590 lift with 1.8 rockers.

any advantage over just buying something with a .590 lift? other than installation price?
Old 09-15-2007, 12:19 PM
TECH Fanatic

It would help you out a little bit, but depending on your goals, it probably isn't going to be what you were expecting.
Old 09-15-2007, 12:32 PM
JPH
TECH Junkie

Originally Posted by 86MonteSS
224/224 around .560 lift with 1.7 rockers. .590 lift with 1.8 rockers.

any advantage over just buying something with a .590 lift? other than installation price?
it would help, but my advice is to run a bigger cam. the cost of rockers (rockers that work) compared to a new cam profile, you would be wiser to spend the money on a new cam. rockers will give you more valve duration, and about .030-.032 more net valve lift.
Old 09-15-2007, 12:35 PM
TECH Fanatic

1.8 ratios are a waste of time. 1.8's put more stress on the valvetrain, and their only purpose is to do something the cam was supposed to do in the first place.

Get a bigger cam, and stick with 1.7s. I have aftermarket rockers with a roller tip, and they are 1.7s. Love my Harland Sharps
Old 09-15-2007, 06:37 PM