Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What cam is best for me????

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2007, 03:46 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What cam is best for me????

Getting ready to purchase a cam for my car, and I will be the first to admitt that I need some help selecting the one that would be best for my setup. It will be paired with some AFR 225 heads, FAST 90mm TB, FAST 90mm intake, SLP cold air kit, Pacesetter LT headers, and SLP LM exhaust. This is all it is going to have for right now, eventually it will be getting a forged lower end with all forged pistons and internals so that I can out a nice shot on it, but that wont be for a while. So I was wondering what the best cam for my setup would be???

THANK FOR THE HELP
Old 10-03-2007, 04:20 PM
TECH Resident

Dang dude, goin' all out on the first run

I'm no cam expert by any means but i see alot of guys running the TV2/TV3 with those heads. I'm sure someone with more experience and know-say will chime in.
Old 10-03-2007, 04:41 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I take it you dont want to flycut? Tv2 Tv3 sound like good candidates. Something mid 230's, just make sure to check with teh vender to verify itll clear those heads. Around that sive will make good power without having to spin to the moon,and without losing too much torque down low. What cam / drivability characteristics are you looking for?
Old 10-03-2007, 04:54 PM
Staging Lane

Originally Posted by GuitsBoy
What cam / drivability characteristics are you looking for?

My goal is to creat a strip beast, but keep it to where I can drive it on the street. I understand the streetability is going to be affected and I am not looking for something to take long drives with, but I would like to be able to drive it to the track or to cruises and not have to worry about it

I would like to avoid having to flycut if at all possible
Old 10-03-2007, 04:58 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post