Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hesitation and Sputtering

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2007, 05:34 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hesitation and Sputtering

My 01 SS is having osme problems lately. For the longest time ive had a service enfgine light on. it was for the bad cat i had. anyway, about a month ago i threw on a set of pacesetter LTs and ORY. This weekend i was making a trip from NJ to Long island and the car started hesitating from a stop and while cruising with throttle the car seemed to hesitate and then go, hesitate then go.. almost like sputtering. Then the SES light started flashing which im pretty sure means i have a mis-fire. i got to long island and a buddy of mine changed the #2 plug since after his diagnosis says was the bad plug. We then went over to autozone and had the codes checked and cleared. The car is still hesitating but the SES light didnt come back on at all. Now, im no expert but since i dont have rear o2s shouldnt the light have come back on by now?

Anyway thats not my real concern, the real concern is why is it still hesitating? Im thinking i need all new plugs and wires sicne maby more than one plug went bad.

Sorry for the long post but i like to be detailed when explainging a problem

-adam
Old 10-08-2007, 05:59 PM
On The Tree

i had a similar prob... i ran a full tank of 100 octane through it and changed my plugs and so far it went a way.... good luck....
Old 10-08-2007, 06:00 PM
TECH Resident

Mine "sputtered" and bucked quite a bit after my LT install.

Turns out the longtubes burnt through the wiring on my driver side o2 sensor... so i ordered a replacement and wrapped it up in heat wrap. No problems since. Check your wires to make sure everything at least LOOKS ok. My diagnosis was lucky enough to be seen by the naked eye. I hope yours is as easily spotted. Best of luck.
Old 10-08-2007, 07:54 PM
On The Tree

any other ideas? anything else i should check?