Sponsored by:

what size Push RODS?? "help"

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2008, 12:01 PM
10 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Unhappy what size Push RODS?? "help"

so i'm installing ported heads, milled .030, my cam is the Ms3 237/242/
.606/.609 lift, ls7 lifters, duel springs,.... what size PUSH RODS should i get? i'm a Newbie......not even a back yard Machanic.. thanx
Old 01-26-2008, 12:14 PM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by geovett
so i'm installing ported heads, milled .030, my cam is the Ms3 237/242/
.606/.609 lift, ls7 lifters, duel springs,.... what size PUSH RODS should i get? i'm a Newbie......not even a back yard Machanic.. thanx
If your not up to being a basic 'backyard mechanic', not to mentioned a spelling bee, I wouldn't recommend a cam & head installation!

But - to answer your question, measure for proper pushrod length.

If you can handle the cam/head install, measuring for pushrod length is one extra simple step.
Old 01-26-2008, 12:14 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Buy a pushrod length checker and measure for the correct length. It will be a crapshoot if you try and ask us to guess.

Measuring for correct length is easy. Buy the Comp PR length checker.

Look here: http://www.ls1speed.com/catagory.cfm...in%20/%20Heads

bottom of the page.

...and please tell us you measured your PTVC.

R/

Frat

Last edited by Fratsit; 01-26-2008 at 12:16 PM. Reason: Spelling errors. I'd fail at a spelling bee, too.
Old 01-26-2008, 12:49 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Be very cautious if you've never done much mechanic work. Getting everything that you are going to install installed PROPRERLY is going to determine the longevity of the motor
Old 01-26-2008, 04:50 PM
10 Second Club

Red face

Originally Posted by Michael02hawk
If your not up to being a basic 'backyard mechanic', not to mentioned a spelling bee, I wouldn't recommend a cam & head installation!

But - to answer your question, measure for proper pushrod length.