Sponsored by:

Cam question regarding idle speed and very low rpm driving

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2003, 08:02 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Cam question regarding idle speed and very low rpm driving

All right guys, here's the deal.

I am not new to the LS1 world. My previous car was a 2000 SS A4 and my current cars are a 98 SS M6 and a 99 FRC vette M6.

The 98 SS is my daily driver, and is mostly stock with bolt-ons.

The 99 FRC has heads/cam/longtubes/blah blah blah.

I'm new to the 'cam' world. The FRC has a T1 cam - 221/221 on a 112lsa, locally ported heads, cartek tuning. I don't know what they really 'tuned', but I suspect it was just dyno tuning as the car idles at stock speed. Car puts down 409rwhp through the stock cats.

Now, with my SS car, I can drive at VERY low rpms. I have a super cramped driveway and an even worse parking garage at work. It is very common for me to be navigating the car around very slowly, letting the clutch out from a stop at idle, idling in 1st up a garage ramp, backing up my inclined driveway from idle, hitting stop+go traffic once a week, etc, stuff like that.

Now, the FRC, which I just got, will not have ANY of that. I stalled it 3 times trying to switch positions in the driveway with my SS. It's got a cartek clutch, and it seems quite a bit grabbier (and heavier) than my stock SS clutch. It's got a pretty choppy idle, and once you go below that (start letting out the clutch) it sputters and bucks and dies 2 seconds later.

Now, my question is, what can I do to alleviate this?