Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Valve wipe good enough?

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2008, 08:06 PM
10 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Valve wipe good enough?

Using YT rockers supplied shims TFS heads...i attached a couple of extra pics kind of side shots of the valve train...doesnt look like the rockers arent pushing down the valves very much, first time Ive used other than stock rockers...just back in the day seemed like they would push down a good bit...Im using new lifters....surely theyre not bleeding down that fast (brand new 850-16 comp oe replacement lifters)? Prob just an illusion since its my first time with YT rockers
Anyways heres the setup TFS 215s milled .020, YT rockers, 7.5 Pushrods, MLS gaskets, supplied YT shims....didnt check PR length, just used what VR recommended, valvetrain isnt that loud so Im assuming 7.5s was the right one to use
your guys thoughts?
Attached Thumbnails Valve wipe good enough?-valve-wipe.jpg   Valve wipe good enough?-yellaterra.jpg   Valve wipe good enough?-yellaterra2.jpg  
Old 08-11-2008, 08:07 PM
10 Second Club

how much should the springs be compressed? just the lift of the cam...or the lift*1.7 for the rockers?
Old 08-11-2008, 08:12 PM
TECH Addict

springs should compress the lift for the 1.7 ratio, since the top of the spring is the roughly the same as the top of the valve.

did you try installing the rockers without the shims?
Old 08-11-2008, 11:48 PM
FormerVendor

Your pictures suck..

Pics with the rockers in place serves no purpose.

Proper length pushrods is NOT just about noise. Its about valvetrain stability.

Get a set of checker springs. Their about 3 bucks for the pair (Comp Cams PN 4758-2). Then get a comp cams PR length checker. Also get some rocker shims (you can get them from mcmaster carr.com) Dial in your wipe pattern perfectly.

After thats all done, THEN check for proper pushrod length. That is the very LAST thing you do.