Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I need help bad, just cant figure it out.

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2008, 06:25 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default I need help bad, just cant figure it out.

This will be long. I bought a top end kit for my ss, it is tfs 215's, 1,7 harland sharp (non adjustable) rockers, with gm head gasket , 7.5 push rods, ls7 lifters etc. I wanted to bump up compression, so i milled the heads from 64 to 61cc's When they milled my heads they told me that the heads were only 63cc's nd that only .012" needed to be taken off.I also bought a .040 cometic head gasket. This is what i cant figure out. Now that i milled the heads and changed the head gasket, the push rods will not work without shims. I new this would be the case, however i am having trouble finding out what the lengths should be. I have a push rod length tester, but i am scared to make a mistake. This is my first time doing rockers. Can i subtract the material taken from the heads and the difference from the thickness of the gm compressed gasket and the cometic compressed gasket, subtract it from the 7.5 push rod to get the new length push rod, or does it not work that way. I know i will need shims, but what size? I need help step by step, and a fool proof method of checking if it is correct before i put the rest of the motor together. Does the piston have to be at tdc when checking for length? How will i know its at tdc? Does it also have to be on a certain stroke? How will i know that its on that stroke? Do i have to do certain cylinders or valves first in some kind of order? what is the order? When is the adjustable push rod adjusted far enough and not compressing the lifter, or should it be compressed a bit? Is there a certain clearance or tolerance that i have to have between the roller and the valve spring? As you can see , i am lost. I feel like an idiot because i have read so many instructions on this in the s