Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

Built Your ShortBlock?

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2009, 04:11 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Post Built Your ShortBlock?

This summer i blew my 346 @ 414rwhp.
So i am going to build a low compression LS2 402 for a turbo setup.
I have been doing alot of reading on here and i read "How to Rebuild GM LS-Series Engines"
Seems like it is very complicated to build a shortblock with all the tolerances and clearances. One mess up and your screwed?

I would like to know from guys who built there shortblock (does not have to be a 402) how hard was it? I have never built a cars motor before. I have seen and played with the "ins and outs" of my LS1. I have built go-kart, dirtbike, atv, etc motors before.
It would really help me out if i heard from some people that have only built one or two of these motors.

Please let me know how it went, was it hard/easy, what was the outcome, was it worth it, anything i should know before hand?

-Kenny
Old 05-16-2009, 07:54 PM
On The Tree

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

my first motor build was my 427. Its not difficult, just make sure you have all the necessary tools. Also make sure you cover all your bases and double check your clearances. The book you mention covers the build fairly well, if you follow it step by step you'll be just fine. Building a motor also creates a sense of pride for the builder, its awesome just telling ppl that you built your own motor.
Old 05-17-2009, 12:18 PM
TECH Junkie

Thank You for the responce "red02Hawk"

Come on guys there has to be others that have built your own shortblock.
Old 05-17-2009, 12:39 PM
TECH Enthusiast

I did the build on my 403. Its def. cheaper to buy a pre assembled short, but you're not assured that its set up the way YOU want. Things to pay close attention to:

crank center line bore- have it honed or bored accordingly
thrust-crank end play