Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

How can I tell where you LS2 came from?

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2009, 03:01 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How can I tell where you LS2 came from?

I'm new to the LS series engines, and just got an LS2 off of ebay. The story was it came from an '06 Corvette. But we all know how ebay stories go. It has a 6.0L cast into the block. It's the long block, heads, pan, crank, rods, pistons, no coils, no water pump, etc.
I plan on putting it into my Panoz road race track car.
First question is, how do I tell if its a 54 or 24 tooth reluctor wheel?
It doesn't have a bat wing oil pan. Is it really from a Corvette?
I plan on going carb and Vr Jr intake. What size carb should I get? I had a 750HP on my 408W track engine before.
For a track car, should I up grade the cam before install, if so which one.
What heades should I use?
Thanks for the Newbie help.
Old 12-01-2009, 04:35 PM
KCS

Received 307 Likes on 207 Posts

Originally Posted by ducky1
I'm new to the LS series engines, and just got an LS2 off of ebay. The story was it came from an '06 Corvette. But we all know how ebay stories go. It has a 6.0L cast into the block. It's the long block, heads, pan, crank, rods, pistons, no coils, no water pump, etc.
I plan on putting it into my Panoz road race track car.
First question is, how do I tell if its a 54 or 24 tooth reluctor wheel?
It doesn't have a bat wing oil pan. Is it really from a Corvette?
I plan on going carb and Vr Jr intake. What size carb should I get? I had a 750HP on my 408W track engine before.
For a track car, should I up grade the cam before install, if so which one.
What heades should I use?
Thanks for the Newbie help.
I'm pretty sure you will find a number on the outside of the block designating where it came from. I think it's a machined pad on the side of the casing and the numbers look to be scribed in a bunch of dots.