Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

Need some guidance

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2010, 07:28 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some guidance

I am newish to the LS2 stuff. Learned about them in school (im a GM ASEP student) But want to build a Camaro with a iron block 6.0 and was wondering what heads i should get and which cam and intake etc. Also how strong is the bottom end? What would be a good stroker kit? would be M6 with either a 4.56 or a 4,10
Old 04-25-2010, 10:52 PM
TECH Resident

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

The bottom end is good if you are doing heads and cam. We need a little more info as to what you are wanting to do but I'll take a little stab at it and possibly send you in the right direction.

If you want an iron block 6.0 shoot for an LQ4, Should be able to get a shortblock for 400
For the intake stick to an L76. Only difference between the L76 and the LS3 corvette intake is the beauty cover
For heads get some L92 heads, they are pretty much the same damn thing as an LS3 corvette head but a hell of alot cheaper. I think the only difference is the runners in the LS3 are polished. L92 heads can be had for about 350-400
The crankshaft is good to about 550 horsepower so unless you are going boosted, leave the crank in there. A new stroker crank will run you around 900+.
Rods are also good to about 550 horsepower but as far as pistons are concerned I would get some JE flattops. As far has hardware is concerned get a double adjustable roller timing chain, ARP rod bolts, ARP Head studs, Cometic head gaskets if you are building a N/A build or LS9 head gaskets if you are building for boost. Melling high volume oil pump should also be one of the things you should get whether its an N/A build or a boost build.