Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

Car runs rough and very rich after cam swap ??

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2011, 10:06 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Car runs rough and very rich after cam swap ??

Had a lifter go bad and it messed up a cam lobe so I had a shop install a new cam (exact same grind) and a new set of lifters. After getting it all back together the car tries to idle about 250 rpms lower than before and runs extemely rich. while cruising about 40mph it seems to surge a little bit and once I went WOT the afr went to 10:1 and it fell flat on its face..
I brought it back home and double checked all the vacuum lines, took the intake back off to make sure one of the intake seals wasnt pitched and double checked all the rocker arms to make sure they were TQed correctly..
I am no engine mechanic so have no idea what could be wrong..
I wouldnt think the tuning would be that much different since nothing changed but I tried to lean it out a bit and that made no difference.

My guesses would be cam gear may be off a tooth (but I dont know if the above stated signs would coralate to this)
A ground missing or off somewhere, (I know the ground on the passenger head front and drivers head rear are attached)

Anyone have any other ideas ?
Old 08-23-2011, 10:37 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Did the installer take the time to degree both cams?
Old 08-23-2011, 10:57 AM
Staging Lane

Originally Posted by ShoddyHog
Did the installer take the time to degree both cams?
I am no engine person and Im not 100% sure on that answer.
Seems as though there is a vacuum leak of some sort because the brakes dont work for crap now either..
Could a cam not being put in correctly make the car act like it has a vacuum leak
Old 08-23-2011, 11:52 AM
TECH Apprentice

Originally Posted by slowgoat
Seems as though there is a vacuum leak of some sort because the brakes dont work for crap now either..