Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

Engine gurus please.

Old 05-20-2012, 12:23 AM
Teching In

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question Engine gurus please.

First off let me say hello to all of you!! My name is Tony.

First post on this board and I am coming out looking for some big answers.

I am freshening the stock bottom end on my LS3 motor. I am new to the LS series of engines but have worked with the old style sbc engine for the better part of 20 plus years. Don't say that to sound arrogant, just saying I am fairly competent with a wrench on a motor so please don't hesitate to get a little technical with me. I may ask questions or for a link for the info, I'm all about learning here!!!

While pulling my cam out I checked my cam bearings, heard of these goin bad on some of our motors. Mine don't look the greatest in my opinion. They haven't delaminated but there is a ton of the base metal showing already and it looks like GM threw the cam in there. My G8 GXP only has 24k miles on it as my daily driver. With that, I'm going to put new cam, rod, and main bearings in the motor. The bottom end is completely stock and I will be keeping it that way with the exception of ARP main studs, and possibly rod bolts as well.

On to the real questions. I have heard and read a little about coated cam bearings, can somebody please explain the pros and cons of this for a daily driver application. I have seen a number of post on this forum about the use of new rod bolts and having to resize, makes sense why it would need to be done. I see ARP makes a few different versions of rod bolts for our LS engines, what would be recommended for a daily driver with between 450-500rwhp? Also, a good source for aftermarket stock size replacement bearings for the cam, rods, and mains.