Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

This Gen IV Aluminum engine better be good, advise please.

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2015, 08:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default This Gen IV Aluminum engine better be good, advise please.

Tomorrow morning I am going to be checking out a Lc9 engine that came out of a Yukon. According to this guys mechanic, and I quote "2008 5.3 with fuel active management. #4 cylinder has a low compression by 30 psi lower. Causing rough idle. Flat cam on #4?" I am not a mechanic and I cant answer any technical Questions. if you are interested you can contact me"

Any ways do plan on rebuilding the engine, but is there anything I should be watching out for?

Old 01-12-2015, 09:03 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 474 Likes on 354 Posts

I would confirm the flat cam lobe, It should be easy enough to have them show you by turning over the engine by hand while watching the rocker arm on that lobe or by pulling the valley cover and looking at it. Since you plan on a rebuild a flat cam is not an issue, The metal from the cam is usually pretty fine and although it does damage bearings it usually doesn't damage cylinder walls. Just make sure the block gets a good cleaning before reassembly because the metal will be spread throughout the oil passages.
Old 01-12-2015, 09:14 PM

Originally Posted by LLLosingit
I would confirm the flat cam lobe, It should be easy enough to have them show you by turning over the engine by hand while watching the rocker arm on that lobe or by pulling the valley cover and looking at it. Since you plan on a rebuild a flat cam is not an issue, The metal from the cam is usually pretty fine and although it does damage bearings it usually doesn't damage cylinder walls. Just make sure the block gets a good cleaning before reassembly because the metal will be spread throughout the oil passages.