Generation V External Engine LT1 Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I`m going to need some help on a wiring harness

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2015, 12:58 PM
Staging Lane

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default I`m going to need some help on a wiring harness

Hey guys,
I have 2014 l83 that I am trying to put into a 89 c1500. There is only 1 company that I have found that is making a stand alone harness for this engine. However they want 2000 bucks. I cant spend that much so I need to make my own.

I have the original harness and computer but I dont know what has to go and what needs to stay. I have some background in wiring as I am a a/c tech and I build drag cars on the side, so I should be able to pull this off.

Where do I start?
Old 10-29-2015, 05:28 AM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Buy the shop manual for the engine the vehicle it came out of. It details every circuit in the harness. If you don't have a factory harness, get one and trim it out. Last I checked the pins for the computer to roll your own harness were unavailable, unless that has changed.
Old 10-29-2015, 01:33 PM
Staging Lane

Thanks for the reply 96.
I am sure someone out there can help me figure this out. I would hate to have to buy a shop manual when all I need is the wiring diagram. But if I have to I will. After looking at the harness the biggest issue I see is to trim down the wiring to what I need. Gas pedal, ignition, starter. diagnostic port and gauge connections. There must be 75 wires at the connectors to the firewall and I have no idea which is which.
Old 10-31-2015, 10:34 AM
Staging Lane

Ok so maybe I am in the wrong forum. Can anyone steer me to the right place to get this info? Pretty please?
Old 10-31-2015, 11:14 AM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts