Introductions & Greetings New to the site? Say hello!

Swapping an LS into a B2000

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2015, 11:23 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Swapping an LS into a B2000

Hello, I am new to the LS world. Been doing a lot of research and reading on these engines for a while now since I am wanting to swap a 6.0L into my '87 Mazda B2000 for a little more grunt than the stock carbureted 2.0L can provide. I just got rid of my 550awhp/445tq Lancer Evolution build and cant wait to go fast again. Well hopefully I can learn some more and get maybe even get some parts.
Old 06-02-2015, 05:24 PM
TECH Enthusiast

the 4.8 and 5.3 motors are cheaper and easier to get. more interchanging on wiring, pcm, trannys. you wont need a large motor to move that truck. a single turbo on a 4.8 will make it fly. do some homework see if 6.0 is worth it to you. 4l60e trannys are smaller easier to fit most cars/trucks. 4l80e came on 6.0 are bigger and electrical connector is different. stand alone wiring u can do using LT1Swap.com info if using truck wiring, pcm.
Old 06-04-2015, 10:46 AM
Teching In

You're right, I was trying to stick to the 6.0 just for the size but I've decided on the 5.3 LM7 instead and am gonna pick one up with 190k miles tomorrow with the alternator and starter still attached. I want to do a single turbo on it later on once its all in there and running good but I am truly lost as to what ECU to go with, can I do an OEM Tahoe or Silverado and get it tuned at a dyno tuner or do I have to go aftermarket? I am wanting to put a T56 behind the engine as the truck is a stick to begin with and I am not a fan of auto trannys. Can I just use a PCM off a manual transmisson Silverado? And I assume I need to get the engine harness of a manual truck too so it doesn't have the tranny control plug or anything like that for an auto trans.

Sounds like you know a thing or two about doing all of this and I can use all the help I can get.