Introductions & Greetings New to the site? Say hello!

New Swapper - Ohio

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2015, 08:12 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Swapper - Ohio

Hi there.

LS1Tech is a fantastic site, happy to be part of it! A huge source of info...

I'm a newbie, First time doing something like this but was persuaded / coached by a good buddy (Joe at 513Motorsports in Oxford) who has been around cars a long time.

So, my swap is the 2005 Mazda RX8. We put a stock LS1 and 4L60e into it along with a 8.8 rear end (3.27:1). The plan was to make it a fun daily driver and that we did!

We completed all the fabrication ourselves minus the diff kit from V8 Roadsters. A great kit and fit in nicely. We would have built our own diff kit but ran out of time as the goal was to do the long haul on this years Hot Rod Power Tour. We did get it completed in time. Finished a few days before we left for Madison and had an awesome trip.

Car looks stock on the outside as much as possible. Had to go up in tire size so the 255-40-18's are the only giveaway if any. The exhaust may also be a hint to as I haven't heard too many RX8's sound like this one! We used the Hooker cast manifolds into 2.5" into a single 3" to the muffler. We put a cutout on as well just in case we decide to put it down the track! Oh yeah, I did! First time ever for that too! It was as hot as all get out and I had the car still packed with all the crap for the HRPT week! But it was fun and I am looking forward to seeing what it can do with nearly 300lb less crap in there and hopefully not run in the heat like it was.. It was in Memphis TN.

So far I have all the gauges working. Have a couple of lights on but the ABS and traction control will go off once i get the tone rings back on the axles.