Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

What Wires To Use For The Following

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2008, 06:54 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default What Wires To Use For The Following

Hey guys, i am a wiring / electrical newb. I know jack **** on how to wire things up And i hate that i haven't learned yet. Well i am on a mission to learn

So here it goes. I am going to want to wire up my E-cutout, LineLock, Fan Switch and maybe HUmount.

So my question is where would you wire all this up? I know to put the switched in the ashtray, but how do you know what wires to use for HOT and what wires to use for GROUND? Also what sort of splicer or what ever you would use lets say if my cut out wiring harness has a hot wire and ground wire. What 'gadget' would you use to splice the hot wires together?

So basically i am looking for info on what wires by the center console (ashtray) and what wires by the TCS/cigarette lighter are HOT ans Ground.

BTW my 2002 Trans Am DOES NOT have TCS. But from my understanding there is still a harness back there for it?

Thanks guys for your help

-Jonas
Old 10-29-2008, 08:09 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

ground right to bare metal under the counsel, IMO pull power from the fuse box or battery
Old 10-29-2008, 08:33 PM
TECH Senior Member

Originally Posted by pentavolvo
ground right to bare metal under the counsel, IMO pull power from the fuse box or battery
if you pull from the fuse box. what fused provide constant power?
Old 10-29-2008, 10:46 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts