Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

Please evaluate my L92 build!!

Old 01-14-2009, 10:05 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please evaluate my L92 build!!

Ok guys, go easy on me because I am a V8 noob and I have never really gone into a large pushrod motor like this. Here is the prospect so far:

Stock L92 bottom end, with Katech rod bolts
F body oil pan
stock L92 oil pump
LS3 intake manifold
LS3 intake valves
some kind of stiff valve spring either patriot gold or comp 921s
hardened pushrods
stock lifters
LS3 water pump
ARP head bolts
LS7 clutch
JTR long tube headers
3 inch exhaust
LGM cam either the G6X3 or the G6XE
I'm looking for about 500hp at the crank

Now, I have tried to research the stock limitations on the rockers, or the pistons, rods, etc and I couldn't really find much. So, for you L92 head users, do you see anything glaring with my setup? I dont plan to spin the motor past 6500 or so and I *think* the max lift on the LGM cam is about .600 or so. I know some people are using aftermarket rockers, but do I *need* them? will the stock ones work? I wont be using any power adders, I just want a mostly reliable 500hp car.....Thanks in advance!!

Last edited by onefastrx7turbo; 01-14-2009 at 10:18 PM.
Old 01-15-2009, 07:32 AM
12 Second Club

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Is it a true L92, with cam phaser? Makes sure you get the correct cam, with or without phaser. Youll kill your engine in a heartbeat if you dont.

Your stock rockers will be fine.
Old 01-15-2009, 12:22 PM
On The Tree

Sweets10V8, it does have the cam phaser but I'm ditching the VVT system in favor a custom cam. Thanks for the input!!
Old 01-15-2009, 02:40 PM
Teching In

What is the cam phaser??? It is the same as VVT???
Old 01-15-2009, 04:09 PM
On The Tree

yea, its the actuator which controls the VVT operation. it bolts to the front of the VVT camshaft
Old 01-15-2009, 04:16 PM
FormerVendor