LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Cam only rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2009, 12:14 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cam only rebuild

I spun a bearing, so my friend and I are going to do a rebuild. The main point is to get my car into DD shape, while squeezing some power out of it with a cc503 cam. Besides the cam, I would like everything to be as stock as possible. Being that I'm a poor college student, I want to try and write out all the parts and get a rough estimate of what this will cost me. So far I know we'll need valve springs, bearings, piston rings, seals, possibly an oil pump, and possibly a crank shaft. Is there anything I'm missing? Also any tips and suggestions are completely welcome!
Old 02-03-2009, 12:22 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts

Originally Posted by 96blackta
I spun a bearing, so my friend and I are going to do a rebuild. The main point is to get my car into DD shape, while squeezing some power out of it with a cc503 cam. Besides the cam, I would like everything to be as stock as possible. Being that I'm a poor college student, I want to try and write out all the parts and get a rough estimate of what this will cost me. So far I know we'll need valve springs, bearings, piston rings, seals, possibly an oil pump, and possibly a crank shaft. Is there anything I'm missing? Also any tips and suggestions are completely welcome!
Lol, you need to talk to ME. I just blew up my 153k mile motor about two months ago and built a CC503 cam-only replacement and swapped it in. Also considering you are like 20 mins away from me.
Old 02-03-2009, 12:29 AM
TECH Regular

with the cc503 u cant really keep everything stock, this cam is quite big enough for the stock heads,..that u will require LT's, high stall TC, and at least a 52mm TB,, or may be a tune if u can still afford it.
IMO the best cam for ur application is the GM hot cam kit
Old 02-03-2009, 12:36 AM
TECH Senior Member