Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help me piece together a 4L60 build

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2009, 01:50 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Default Help me piece together a 4L60 build

In the next few weeks I will be pulling the transmission on my 50,000 mile Trans Am to install its new Yank SS4000 converter. While the transmission is out, I'm interested in upgrading its internals to make it a little tougher and handle the additional power it will be making. A friend of mine who works at a local shop in town has offered to do the labor at a very reasonable price. I'm no expert on automatics so any help will be greatly appreciated. Not looking to break the bank but I would really like to fix some of the common failure points of a 4L60.

Mods:

Vengeance Racing VRX5 cam, and full bolt ons.
Yank SS4000 Stall

Also need to decide on a good cooler, any suggestions?

Thanks guys.
Old 02-19-2009, 02:12 PM
12 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

this is whats it the apf trans I bought:

New electronics, Hardened pump rings, Servo D ring kit instead of Teflon rings, New Accumulator Pistons, New Valve Body Spacer Plate, Modified Pump Assembly, Oversized Boost Valve, Transgo Hi-Rev Release Springs, High Quality Overhaul Kit, Frictions and Bushings, Transgo Shift kit, Borg Warner dual cage 29 element Input Sprag, Corvette 2nd gear Servo kit, Wide rear sun gear bushing, Heavy duty sun gear shell "The Beast", High Energy 2-4 Band High Energy 7 friction clutch pack with full thickness Kolene Steels, High RPM Transgo pump slide spring, Teflon Pump Bushing

most run a B&M 24K cooler
Old 02-19-2009, 02:43 PM
FormerVendor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts