Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

bias-ply w/ radials ??????????

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2009, 08:09 PM
9 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default bias-ply w/ radials ??????????

I know that mixing the two is a no-no. But many of use still do, like me. I had too many close calls with the car wandering around at high speeds and now it's time to fix it. I never driven a car before with bias-ply tires on all four corners. And was wondering is there any differance in the way bias-ply tires drive vs. radials? I really want to go with all radials but I run a M6 trans and have heard nothing but complaints on how they don't hook with manual trans. Any thoughts on this?
Old 03-01-2009, 09:14 PM
11Second Club

I've never tried M/T ET Street radials before, but I know my Nittos never hooked well enough to get out of the 1.7 60' range when I was putting down 400RWHP. Now that it's 650, I shudder to think of what would happen. I'll stick with my 12" M&H slicks.

As for the bias-ply fronts, I had the same problem driving dad's Nova (high 9 car in perfect weather). We were running 9" M/T slicks and some kind of radial front tire, and the car would sway back and forth in the back (as slicks always seem to do), but the radial tires wouldn't sway with the slicks. Instead of the whole car swaying back and forth, the front tires would cut thus turning the car left and right. As I went down the track the car oscillated left and right until it finally got enough out of shape that I had to get out of it.

When we got the bias-ply fronts, the problem went away. The car sways left and right for a second after the leave (mostly just from steering adjustments), and then it goes away. The front sways with the back instead of cutting and turning.

Hope this helps.
Old 03-02-2009, 12:21 PM
9 Second Club

Good thats kinda what I wanted to hear.
Old 03-02-2009, 01:41 PM
Race your car!

Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts