Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Ultrabell on a LSX

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2009, 01:00 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ultrabell on a LSX

Ok, so Im new to this and cant find any info if the Ultrabell will bolt up to an LSX (5.3L), Im looking at a TH350 that was rebuilt last year with Red Racing Clutches and a new shift kit, wants $200 for it, $300 with a 3500 B&M w/ anti balloning plates. I dont want to buy it if the Ultrabell wont bolt up though. Thans for any help.
Old 03-08-2009, 01:46 PM
FLT
FormerVendor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

The ultra bell will bolt up to a LSX. We did one for a member called Tuff that has TH350. Have to see if I have a picture of it. Vince
Old 03-08-2009, 06:57 PM
Teching In

Thanks Vince. I figured you guys would know. I guess I could have sent a PM.
Old 03-09-2009, 01:36 PM
8 Second Club

There are a couple things to make the ultra bell work on a LSX. I just went through this, and if you know about first, like I did, it could save you a bunch of hassles. I trial fitted the Ultra Bell before mounting it to the trans. There are 4 bolts on the rear engine cover that will interfere with the bell. Some say grind on the bell, but I did not like that idea, so I removed the 4 bolts, and milled the heads down. There ended up being around 1/8" or so left, just enough to still get a socket to torque them down, 23ft lbs. Bolt the bell down to the engine to verify proper clearance to the bolts. I also had to dimple the trans tunnel in a couple of spots to allow the bell to even fit up in there. Other then that, it is just like any other A3 install on a LS.
Old 03-09-2009, 01:50 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Sounds familiar,

Here is a post I made back in 12/07

"Apparently, the early design (pre-2000?) LS1 rear main seal housing is much thicker than the version that is currently in production.