Paint & Body Work Custom Painting | Panel Repairs & Replacement

Recommend an HVLP Gun Kit

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2009, 10:25 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Recommend an HVLP Gun Kit

Hey guys, I'm looking to to buy a starter HVLP gun kit with multiple guns or attachments for primer/base(color)/clear. My intentions are to spray paint my hood, front/rear bumper. I am just beginning so do not recommend the highest top dollar gun kit nor the cheapest. I want a kit that will last me a long time in the $500-650 price range.

does this seem like a good starter kit

Thanks in advance.
Old 03-24-2009, 10:51 PM
Teching In

Your spray gun should be matched to the CFM output of your compressor as you can oversize the compressor output. Look at CFM around 50PSI. You should also match the guns fluid tip and air cap to the material that you will be using. If the compressor is small - it typically condenses a lot of water and this can be a problem.

The first time you are spraying basecoat or clear and the gun spits out some primer you will understand why you want to use a different gun for primer and basecoat/clear. Professional painters often use another gun just for the clear.

Rebuild kits and parts are also important. I would stick with a known brand like Sharp, DeVilbiss, Binks. The Japanese company Sata makes an excellent paint gun but they are also priced higher. You might look at a new gun that isn't the newest model, they work just fine and can be picked up for less.
Old 03-24-2009, 11:02 PM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by John V
Your spray gun should be matched to the CFM output of your compressor as you can oversize the compressor output. Look at CFM around 50PSI. You should also match the guns fluid tip and air cap to the material that you will be using. If the compressor is small - it typically condenses a lot of water and this can be a problem.