LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Engine knocking...I am positive it is........

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2009, 10:18 AM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine knocking...I am positive it is........

either a rocker too loose, or a bent pushrod....I know its not a lifter and my mechanic friends all agree with that. I am looking at tearing the valve covers off today and testing it to see which one it is, and then pulling that off to test the pushrod for any bends....My only concern is...

I have never pulled rocker arms off before and then re-installed them...I know how to remove them and install them, BUT I dont know the specifics such as how tight they should be tightened, etc. Anyone know any ways to get this right without any special tools? I am a backyard mechanic with a socket set and wrenches lol.
Old 03-28-2009, 10:22 AM
TECH Regular

Do you have a TORQUE WRENCH? or what is the plan as far as tightening things back up? if you do all you need is the FSM or something like a Chilton's manual to look up the correct specs on all the engine fastners.... Make sure you clearly mark the parts when they come off as to which cylinder/valve the go on, a couple bucks worth of ziplock sammy bags and a sharpie goes a long way here....
Old 03-28-2009, 10:27 AM
12 Second Club

I am only going to be taking one of them off anyways for now. I know it is driver side so I am just going to pull the cover off, poke and prod while the engine is running for a minute, and ill figure out which rocker it is...then I will only loosen THAT rocker and check the rod, then if rod is straight ill just re-tighten to specs...if not then ill replace it and re-tighten...my only concern is that this car is not stock, to include the heads and rockers...so will the specs in a chiltons which are based off of stock specs be accurate for my modified LT1?
Old 03-28-2009, 10:31 AM
12 Second Club