What is it Worth? Use this forum to get feedback on vehicle prices - for selling or buying

1999 Firehawk

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2009, 03:01 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 1999 Firehawk

Looking to get into my first LS1 and found a 1999 Firehawk I'm interested in. It has about 39,000 miles and looks to be in pretty good condition. I spoke with the guy about it and he says he is the 2nd owner. He's asking 13,000 for the car which seems to be a pretty good deal.

A couple things I'm concerned about.. I'm fairly new to getting into the mechanics of cars so I wouldn't be able to determine if something is wrong unless it was major and obvious. Is there anything you should look for when buying one of these? Can you take them to a shop and have them checked out or anything like that? The guy wasn't sure what build # the car was and I thought that was odd for a Firehawk. This car is pretty far from where I am so I would be making a pretty lengthy trip to get this car.

The pictures look good and it appears to have all the right stuff on the exterior of the car that a Firehawk should have. I don't believe it's a fake and I'm pretty sure the VIN would be a good way to verify that. Just nervous about throwing 12-13k at a car and possibly end up with something to fix...

Anyone have any suggestions for a new buyer? Thanks!
Old 05-02-2009, 04:42 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The car should have no problems w/ that many miles on it so i say you should be good as too if its a real Firehawk get the vin# and go to the Special Vehicle section and PM Dave Hamburger the vin# and give you the build # and what options it came with.
Old 05-05-2009, 07:22 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 442 Likes on 319 Posts