General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Need some Spark Plug Help please!

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2009, 08:33 PM
11 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Need some Spark Plug Help please!

Hey guys,

I wanted to just pull out one of the plugs today to check them. My spark plug socket wouldn't fit over it because the end of the plug would stick through where you attach the ratchet. Do I need a deeper one or something? This is my first time ever touching them on an LS1. There was something different looking on the plug (wire side) that I didn't recognize.

Also, my car has about 500 horses at the crank, do I need to gap the plugs differently? I read that for every 50/100 horspower your supposed to remove something from the factory gap specs.

Also my car is pretty heavily modded, heads, cam, fuel system modified full bolt ons all of that. Should I keep running NKG TR-55's or should I run the TR-6's? Also any recommendations on the plug wires?

Thanks guys, much appreciated.
Old 05-10-2009, 06:26 PM
Banned

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Originally Posted by 98 WS6
Hey guys,

I wanted to just pull out one of the plugs today to check them. My spark plug socket wouldn't fit over it because the end of the plug would stick through where you attach the ratchet. Do I need a deeper one or something? This is my first time ever touching them on an LS1. There was something different looking on the plug (wire side) that I didn't recognize.

Also, my car has about 500 horses at the crank, do I need to gap the plugs differently? I read that for every 50/100 horspower your supposed to remove something from the factory gap specs.

Also my car is pretty heavily modded, heads, cam, fuel system modified full bolt ons all of that. Should I keep running NKG TR-55's or should I run the TR-6's? Also any recommendations on the plug wires?

Thanks guys, much appreciated.