Wheels & Tires Forged | Billet | Cast | Radials | Slicks

If you know alot about wheels and finishes, come in!!!

Old 05-15-2009, 12:44 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default If you know alot about wheels and finishes, come in!!!

Well guys, I've encountered a problem with my wheels on my 2005 Chevy Equinox. The clearcoat on the wheels has come off, and corrosion has started taking place.

Now, overall I have enjoyed this SUV. I am a college student, and am very fortunate to be driving it. However, the things that keep on breaking or going wrong with it are driving me crazy. My family has been an avid GM supporter. My Uncle, Martin Krueger, works for them, and is the head of the Chevy Volt program. He also worked on the Hummer program in the early 2000's. Unfortunately, he can't really help us on this issue. To make a long story short, alot of stuff has broken. A trans mount at 70,000 miles, and an EGR at 77,000. Why would a trans mount on a family SUV be breaking at 70,000 miles? GM even went to say that they will not replace the costs, because they wouldn't admit that the part went through a catostrophic failure.

Well, now on to the wheels. This really pisses me off, because I always tried to keep the wheels clean from dirt and grease, and the clearcoat just comes off.

I'll give you guys some pictures now.

I am wondering what I can do about this.

1) Can it be repaired by me or a local shop for a cheap ammount of money?...or

2) Will GM fess up and replace the wheels if I pitch a bitch to headquarters?

Thanks for your help guys!!

Old 05-15-2009, 01:00 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Dang man that sucks, wish I had a suggestion for you.

You sure you haven't been washing the wheels with aircraft stripper? lol
Old 05-15-2009, 01:16 PM
TECH Apprentice

Originally Posted by colby72olds
Dang man that sucks, wish I had a suggestion for you.

You sure you haven't been washing the wheels with aircraft stripper? lol