Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Airbag INFLATOR delete?

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2009, 05:59 AM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Airbag INFLATOR delete?

Has anyone deleted the airbag electronics system and inflator system... Unsoldered the bulb... take out the inflators and leave the dash/steering wheel complete...

Now before you go saying this could dangerous I am an airbag tech

This car is my DD and I know how airbags can be more of a danger then a help. Airbag deployment= basically automatic totaling out of the car if wrecked...

I want to delete the sensors, the module, the excess wiring, the inflators and the bulb..

You guys got anything for me???
Old 05-20-2009, 01:33 PM
TECH Addict

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

the bulb twists out of the cluster and the air bag can be removed from the steering wheel cover. the sensors unbolt and the wires you rip out. its pretty self explanatory.
Old 05-20-2009, 09:47 PM
11 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

your an air bag tech and your asking these questions? I'm a bit confused.

If your looking to lose the weight, pull the dash and remove the passenger side airbag and bracket. remove the module under the center console. The steering wheel bag doesn't realy weigh all that much.

If you want to just turn the system off, unplug the module under the center console.
Old 05-23-2009, 07:10 AM
TECH Fanatic

OP--- I think you are incorrect about the airbags being dangerous..... People said the same things about seatbelts.

Anyhow, what is the thing under the center consol that I can remove for the airbags? I am in the middle of a !AC/P-Airbag and have the dash and center consol apart.
Old 05-23-2009, 09:25 AM
11 Second Club

its a raw aluminum module behind the shifter. about 4"x5" in size. It has a bright yellow connector plugged into it.
Old 05-23-2009, 01:47 PM
12 Second Club

Originally Posted by promod1955