View Full Version : Im A Complete Newbie!

Mr.z/28
05-28-2009, 04:41 PM
I have a lot of questions when it comes down to my car.
for example, I was looking at some vids on youtube. I want to make my car sound loud for a stock a motor, till I get some money for performance parts. Open headers seem to have caught my attention.
where or what do I do. any pics?
is this bad for the motor.

Ericbigmac83
05-28-2009, 04:44 PM
you can either get a x pipe and run bullet mufflers or get a loudmouth catback exhaust.

Don't run open headers

02SLPfirehawk
05-28-2009, 05:01 PM
To do what you wanna do is pretty easy, I would first figure out how much you wanna spend, a cat back can range anywhere from about 430 too 1,300 depending on what you want, since you have a Z and if you want loud, REAL loud? go with and SLP Loudmouth, slponline.com will hook you up, the more expensive ones tend to be Corsa's and Borla's but they are very nice, my friend got a hell of a deal on a lightly used Corsa Cat-back for about 700 and I just checked MSRP, they are at least 1,100 brand new, long story short I would go SLP for noise (loud and when paired with LT's a y-pipe and hi flow cats down right annoying) but if you are trying to stay out of the cops radar, check out, Magnaflow, Borla or if you get lucky a used corsa, that'll get you started, once you get the money as far as your open headers question you can look into "cut-outs" which can be welded up on the collector tubes right before the cats and can either be electrically operated or manually opened depending on what you wanna spend, that way you can choose how loud you really wanna be. That was a lot I know but it should get you started, anything else either PM me or whoever and I'm sure wa can help ya out.

Firefighterformula
05-28-2009, 11:10 PM
+1 on the cutouts...