Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Can someone explain LSA on cams?

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2003, 09:37 AM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can someone explain LSA on cams?

I'm still learning as I go on these things and curious about the LSA on cams. Don't quite understand it.

I'm wanting to go with a TR227/224 cam but unsure if I should use 112 or 114lsa. Any suggestions on what that means and what I probably should go for on a street/strip car?

It's an A4 with all bolt ons except headers & LS6 intake. Already been tuned with LS1 edit and surely after installing a cam will need to be retuned

Thanks for any info.
Old 11-14-2003, 09:56 AM
6600 rpm clutch dump of death Administrator

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

https://ls1tech.com/forums/generation-iii-internal-engine/101100-camshaft-discussion-part-ii.html
Old 11-14-2003, 09:57 AM
Launching!

LSA is an acronym for lobe separation angle. It is the angle between the intake and exhaust lobe centerlines. A lower LSA (lobes closer together) increases valve overlap. Overlap is when the intake and exhaust valves are open at the same time. The effect of inreased overlap (up to a point) is better scavenging of the cylinder at lower engine speeds. This scavenging effect increases the velocity of the gasses through cylinder, thereby increasing power/torque. This effect decreases at higher engine speeds. So in general, for a street car, this is a good thing.
Old 11-14-2003, 10:04 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by 72sub