Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Untuned cam and long trip to tune

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2009, 02:06 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Untuned cam and long trip to tune

Hey I have a PATG spec cam im putting in possibly this weekend, and I was wondering if the car could make it to Orlando for the tune. It's a 226/230 .598 .600 113+4
Old 08-25-2009, 02:27 PM
TECH Regular

My buddy drove around for a month with his un-tuned g5x3. Im no expert, but i know it does work if you had to do it.
Old 08-25-2009, 02:52 PM
TECH Regular

Where in orlando is your shop? Ill be back in miami and was wondering where I could get the car tuned if need it be. My car ran like horse **** untuned,
Old 08-25-2009, 02:57 PM
TECH Resident

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I wouldnt, your risking fouling out plugs, bucking, surging, and other craziness. How about getting a starter mail order tune from the shop then drive it to them for the final dyno tune?
Old 08-25-2009, 03:07 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts

Seing as this is a small cam you can but I would not go above 4K rpms or WOT.
Old 08-25-2009, 03:59 PM
12 Second Club

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

im with pred, you can drive on that smaller cam for a while, just dont go ball to the wall. cruising on the highway, you should be fine.
Old 08-25-2009, 04:25 PM
TECH Resident

Mike Norris is probably going to be tuning it, I just need to get to him, he's in Orlando.
Old 08-25-2009, 04:32 PM
TECH Resident

Good choice, Mike is an awesome guy.
Old 08-25-2009, 05:14 PM
TECH Fanatic

If you have already had it tuned for the headers then it might be ok if you baby it. You will probably have some driveability issues though, so beware. The concern I would have is that it will run lean, especially if it hasn't already been tuned for the headers.
Old 08-26-2009, 07:00 AM
TECH Junkie

why not tune it at RevX in sarasota? much closer.
Old 08-26-2009, 08:27 AM
LSX Mechanic

Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts