Drag Racing Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Suspension Unloading At Launch..? (Vids)

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2009, 02:21 PM
11 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Suspension Unloading At Launch..? (Vids)

I finally got some vids from the last track day (last Friday). From the videos it looks like the suspension is being hit too hard, then unloading but I am no expert. I need some suspension guru's to validate my suspicions. All I see are the tires getting planted, then spinning when the body comes down (squating?).

My best 60' times of the night were between 1.74 and 1.76, launching between 4000 and 4400. Anything more than that and it just spun hard (even harder than these). Anything less and it bogged hard.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NumUjc5wjwE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iMlXirzteQE

Please tell me what you think guys.

Mike
Old 09-16-2009, 02:42 PM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

what kind of shocks are you using in the rear
Old 09-16-2009, 02:44 PM
11 Second Club

The rear shocks are Competition Engineering drag shocks set on 50/50.

Mike
Old 09-16-2009, 02:51 PM
TECH Regular

are you on a slick or radial and what tire pressure were you running
Old 09-16-2009, 02:52 PM
10 Second Club

what shocks do you have on the front...........if adjustable what settings are you running??

Some run the shocks too loose and the front comes up and transfers the weight, but then comes back down as fast as it came up............you are better off getting a steady transfer of weight instead of all of it coming up at one time.
Old 09-16-2009, 03:46 PM
11 Second Club

Originally Posted by chvypwr31
are you on a slick or radial and what tire pressure were you running
Tires are bias ply 26/10.50/15 MT ET Streets @ 14psi. They're not screwed to the rims so I didn't know if I could run them lower than 14 or not?

Originally Posted by bluehawk2
what shocks do you have on the front...........if adjustable what settings are you running??