Gears & Axles Driveshafts | Rearends | Differentials | Gears | 12 Bolt | 9 Inch | Dana

My 10 bolt is leaking.. have some questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2009, 07:29 PM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My 10 bolt is leaking.. have some questions

I don't drive my SS very much. Its only moved maybe 40 miles in the last month. It sat in the garage the past 2 weeks. I backed it out this morning to go for a nice cruise and I noticed a wet spot on the floor of my garage. I got under the car to find the bottom of my 10 bolt wet with a really slow leak. The leak is from the rear end housing.

My question is, what would be the easiest way of fixing it? I probably can't do it myself. I'm a full time student and don't have any tools with me. Also, I know the 10 bolt is a POS and not worth putting any money into. I just don't really drive the car enough to throw something like a 9" in there right now. Is there an easy way to check if it's just in need of a new seal?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated fellas!

Last edited by 35thLE02; 09-26-2009 at 08:44 PM. Reason: Clarifying my OP
Old 09-26-2009, 07:47 PM
11 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

They all leak so the best thing to do is just top off the oil in it. When it blows replace the rear around it
Old 09-26-2009, 08:40 PM
TECH Addict

Is it leaking from the front, or the back? If you think it's from the rear end housing, take it off and try a new gasket + rtv
Old 09-26-2009, 08:43 PM
12 Second Club

Originally Posted by hlaalu
Is it leaking from the front, or the back? If you think it's from the rear end housing, take it off and try a new gasket + rtv
It's definitely from the rear end housing. I should have clarified that in my OP.
Old 09-27-2009, 01:06 AM
TECH Addict