Cadillac CTS-V 2004-2007 (Gen I) The Caddy with an Attitude...

Quick drag advice?

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2009, 05:04 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Quick drag advice?

Since I drag race at most once or twice a year I must admit that I'm not that good at it. I made three quick passes tonight in preparation for an event tomorrow, and my best effort was a 13.97 at 107.5. The 60-ft time for that run was 2.23. I'm running on Goodyear GSD3 street tires. Obviously my car is making good power I just need to get it out of the box quicker. If anyone has tips for racing on street tires (pressure?), shift points or launch technique I'd love to hear it and drop a few tenths tomorrow.
Old 10-03-2009, 05:29 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

what did you do to keep the wheel hop down?
Old 10-03-2009, 07:31 PM
On The Tree

I tried launching very conservatively, not too far above idle. That bogged a bit. The worst wheelhop was on the 1-2 shift in my first run; it hopped all the way through second gear...long enough that I thought "I should back out of it but surely it'll hook back up soon and wow it's still hopping maybe I really should lift naw this can't last much longer (bang bang bang bang) oh look the rev limiter. As I say, I'm not a great driver when it comes to drag racing. Autocross is another story, but I just don't have the drag racing seat time in this car to be confident in my techniques.
Old 10-03-2009, 07:33 PM
On The Tree

Oh, and I should reiterate that the event is TOMORROW, so I'm looking for driving technique/tire pressure tips only, not which parts I should install in the future.

FWIW I have the Specter bushings and they don't seem to be of much help.
Old 10-03-2009, 09:53 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts