Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

DIY auto rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2009, 12:44 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DIY auto rebuild

I'm considering rebuilding the Th350 out of my Isuzu Rodeo. Thinking about getting one of these "how to" vids. I've been a mechanic for many a year but at dealerships where fixing an auto meant pulling it out and sending it back to the manufacturer.

I'm trying to do a 9 second pass for a 9 thousand dollars and things are getting a bit tight so DIY is (apparently) the go

http://www.idealhowtovideo.com/hp350trubotransr06.htm

Is it doable or unpossible?

Edit: Hmmm is it a concern they can't spell turbo?
Old 10-18-2009, 01:01 AM
FLT
FormerVendor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I have one that went 8.21 last weekend. So I would say yes it is possible. I guess it would depend on the weight of the Rodeo and also the parts used in the unit. It will definitely take some money to do this from scratch. Here is one for sale that I built. https://ls1tech.com/forums/lsx-parts...350-trans.html
Old 10-18-2009, 02:27 AM
Teching In

Man, I'd love to get that but shipping would kill me
Old 10-18-2009, 07:02 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Auto 350

There not that complicated at all. Main things, clutch packs and be sure to replace the one way sprags and hubs with hardened parts. If your going to have a tight 1 > 2 shift, that sprag and hub takes takes a beating.
The front pumps are pretty tough.
Old 10-18-2009, 07:37 AM
TECH Veteran

Received 230 Likes on 162 Posts

theres a great book out, i think it might have been by Ron Sessions, how to build a turbo 350-i got it years ago, built my first 350 from it, did the tricks they suggested, ran it in a Nova i had back then 2 seasons, only was running
11's though, cheap converter finally took it out, lol