Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

402/408 - F2 ProCharger too big?

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2009, 03:58 PM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Question 402/408 - F2 ProCharger too big?

Just getting opinions on the matter...

Currently planning to build a 6.0L based 402/8 for boost and 93 pump gas.

Would an F2 head unit be too large for this engine for street duty? Not sure what other information is needed...let me know!

Thanks
Erik
Old 12-07-2009, 06:50 PM
TECH Fanatic

I'm no procharger expert by any means, but there is a member on here with an LSX 402 with an F2 with 26 psi and the blower is still chuggin' along
Old 12-07-2009, 07:15 PM
TECH Addict

maybe he can tune in!
Old 12-07-2009, 07:17 PM
TECH Fanatic

I believe his username is rufretic?
Old 12-08-2009, 04:26 AM
EPP
FormerVendor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by erikthegoalie
Just getting opinions on the matter...

Currently planning to build a 6.0L based 402/8 for boost and 93 pump gas.

Would an F2 head unit be too large for this engine for street duty? Not sure what other information is needed...let me know!

Thanks
Erik

Considering you are using an 6.0L engine with four bolts per cylinder and 93 octane fuel, I wouldn't go any larger on a head unit than an F-1A. The F-1A will make all the boost the heads and octane can handle.

The above dyno graph is from an LS2/402, EPP blower cam. AFR 225 off the shelf heads, FAST 92mm intake, ProCharger F-1A head unit, 93 octane along with methanol injection. At only 12.5 psi this blower is not even close to being maxed out. This is on our conservative Mustang chassis dyno, and the car is a CTS-V with an IRS rear. Bob
Old 12-08-2009, 08:55 AM
TECH Addict

Hey Bob,
Thanks for the reply! I definately was concerned about the octane, IATs, and the fact that it is a 4 bolt-per-cyl block...I knew at some point with a large head unit I would reach the maximum capacity of one of those factors...