Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Clutch pedal doesn't disengage clutch...

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2009, 09:29 AM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Clutch pedal doesn't disengage clutch...

I was just slowing down for a turn while in neutral, i pushed in the clutch to shift to 1st, ad i heard a pop and the pedal fell, but not all the way to the ground. i can only push it in an inch or so and it's REALLY hard to push, not that it matters because it doesn't disengage the clutch...

it's a t56, this is the second clutch, second trans, (the original owner destroyed the original ones) i have ZERO experience working with the clutch, i usually have shops do the work but i cannot afford it right now and i'm screwed if i can't get this thing working again within a few days... please help.
Old 12-15-2009, 10:56 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

It sounds like a hydraulic issue or a stuck throwout bearing. If you actually saw the hydraulics and how they work, you wouldnt believe how simple it is. You push the pedal, it sends fluid to piston that comes out pushing on the pressure plate, thus releasing the clutch. I just put a new clutch and all the hydraulics, throwout bearing also.

Did you ever replace any of the hydraulics or throwout bearing? If not, its time
Old 12-15-2009, 11:44 AM
FormerVendor

If the pedal is sticking you are very likely having a hydraulic issue...have you noticed any fluid loss (checking the reservoir, checking for drips under the car and on the fire-wall)? Take a look and let us know what you see. This will allow me to provide more info. Thanks,
Old 12-15-2009, 12:50 PM
Launching!

i've never replaced any of the hydraulics, bearings or fluids before, the car has 57k miles and like i said, second trans (a used one with about 100k miles on it) a 2 year old oem replacement clutch and flywheel that were purchased brand new.