Corvette Performance
C5 | Z06 | C6 | ZR1 | C7

Supercharger or Heads/cam

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2009, 11:52 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Supercharger or Heads/cam

I am currently working on getting a c6z06 and im very close. Quick question, I see the heads and cam swaps make good power and I like the fact that it is N/A. But A & A has the supercharger and it comes with a fuel upgrade. My question is what else would I need to upgrade besides the fuel system to support either one of these ideas? Also, considering that the supercharger kit comes with the fuel system upgrade what else will I need to upgrade?? Thanks guys..

Im a big Noob to vettes!
Old 12-30-2009, 08:41 PM
12 Second Club

Do you like the sound of a big lopey cam, and worse than stock gas mileage, or do you want it to sound and drive like stock until you put your foot in it?
Old 12-31-2009, 01:05 AM
TECH Addict

nothing like raw power in my opinion, and i still consider a little bit of spray on top of the heads and cam raw power
Old 12-31-2009, 06:03 AM
12 Second Club

What hivoltagedriver said. The S/C will also hurt your already-minimal ground clearance, and make the car run hotter.

For supporting mods in either case figure a clutch.
Old 12-31-2009, 08:47 AM
TECH Fanatic

with the compression of a C6Z, you would be very limitted to the amount of boost you could run. i would do bolt ons, gears, then a cam. garyz has his C6Z kissing the nines with boltons, gears, & clutch.
Old 12-31-2009, 10:36 AM
FormerVendor

A lot of it depends on what your usage is going to be with the car in the future. If your a street and or drag guy, IMO the SC is better suited for making high HP, with expandability. If you intend on doing some road racing, staying NA would be our first recommendation.