Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Clutch install@home. What tools I need?

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2010, 06:52 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Question Clutch install@home. What tools I need?

It looks like my rear main seal is leaking, that means it's about time to do the clutch. Is there any special tools I need for the installation? Other than the rear main seal and clutch, I'll also replace the master and slave cylinder. Keep in mind I'll be doing all the work in my home garage, meaning everything will be on the ground and no lift.

This is my first time replacing clutch (I've experience in other engine work) and there'll be a mechanic friend working with me. I found this clutch install write up at InstallUniversity.com. Any other area I need to pay attention to? I'll get a tranny floor jack from harbor freight.

Any help will be appreciate.
Old 01-02-2010, 08:39 PM
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Extensions and u-joints with an air impact do wonders for disassembly, on the low setting, it does well putting it back together (not for final assembly tho).

I did make some 2x4 blocks to set under the front tires (stacked 3 high) to free up some room under the car.
Old 01-02-2010, 08:42 PM
TECH Fanatic

I rented a puller from autozone for the pinion bearing in the back of the block. They give you your money back when your done. My monster clutch came with a new bearing so I put it in.
Old 01-02-2010, 08:44 PM
Banned

ah, forgot about that pilot bearing puller. I had to use the slide hammer type because the standard puller type didn't work.
Old 01-02-2010, 10:20 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Rent a tranny jack, makes it MUCH easier. And about 30" of extensions. You'll also need a big screwdriver to hold the flywheel while you loosen the bolts, and a breaker bar would help.
Old 01-02-2010, 10:27 PM
TECH Enthusiast