Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Thought I bought a WS6

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2010, 01:04 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thought I bought a WS6

Ok here's the deal, through a little trading I came across this 2000 Pontiac Trans Am WS6 (?) 6 speed car. 107k miles. I drove down south to get it, so it's extremely clean inside and out. I had just about 4grand in the car I traded for it, so I have about 4grand in it. Since I'm a newb to these cars I wasn't exactly sure what to look for to make sure I was getting what I wanted. Well turns out there are no WS6 rpo codes on the car anywhere and it has the 16" chrome rims on it. It does have a factory WS6 hood and a performance badge on the dash. Whoever painted the bird on the hood painted the WS6 logo on the back too. Fake WS6? Still a good buy?
Attached Thumbnails Thought I bought a WS6-000_1312.jpg   Thought I bought a WS6-000_1316.jpg  

Last edited by WizardofDetailing; 01-13-2010 at 01:14 PM.
Old 01-13-2010, 01:08 PM
TECH Enthusiast

there are no performance badges from factory on these cars
Old 01-13-2010, 01:09 PM
TECH Apprentice

If there is no WS6 RPO code, then its not a WS6. You could always try running the vin through a decoder. If you don't know how, PM me your VIN and i'll PM you the results.

Still sounds like you got a good deal tho.
Old 01-13-2010, 01:10 PM
Teching In

So you traded a car worth 4 grand for a fairly close replica of a WS6 with that many miles? Hmm well look at it like this..

If you priced a firebird with that many miles with that same ls1 engine you'd probably be paying somewhere around 3-4 grand and that's without ws6 cosmetics. Also those WS6 parts or replicas get pretty pricey.

I think you may have got your money's worth & maybe it's a fairly good deal but I myself don't think I'd buy an LS1 with that many miles on it. I can only think of the abuse that car has been through.
Old 01-13-2010, 01:25 PM
On The Tree

Default more info