Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Removing excess wiring

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2010, 05:07 PM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Removing excess wiring

I'm trying to remove as much as I possibly can this winter, to get my car down a few pounds by race season. I want to remove a few options (rear dome light, hatch release, rear defrost, power antena wiring, etc) but have heard horror stories about weird things being linked into each other, and other things not working after removal of seemingly unrelated options. Is there anything I should be careful of when I'm doing this, or can anyone give me any input on this? This is my first time attempting anything to do with the wiring, and I'm scared half to death.

Amanda
Old 01-18-2010, 06:57 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Also interested!
Old 01-18-2010, 07:35 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I would send a PM to "the merv" as he has made his "own" wire harness from a stock one when converting his 95 to an Ls1. Im sure he would have some diagrams or knowledge to share

Last edited by Fb0dy0nly; 01-19-2010 at 12:17 PM.
Old 01-18-2010, 07:40 PM
12 Second Club

It was a lt1-ls1 swap not a v6 swap.
Old 01-18-2010, 07:56 PM
11 Second Club

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I've you're going to go that far just completely redo the wiring for the chassis and keep the PCM. I looked at what I needed and chased the wires to the PCM and disconnected it from there. You can find PIN assignments, wiring diagrams on here but I would recommend supplementing that with the service manuals.

Pics when I first stripped the wiring.

Just recently pulled the engine to finish up the clean up job. Going to strip the BCM and keep the basics i.e. power windows, gauges, tailights etc.
Old 01-18-2010, 08:01 PM
Launching!

I just finished my outside body harness tonight and it can fit into a standard plastic walmart bag now. I will post pictures later on.
Old 01-18-2010, 09:25 PM
Staging Lane