LS4 Performance Grand Prix GXP | Monte Carlo SS | Impala SS | LaCrosse Super

LS4 Belt tensioner replacement... what a pain!!!

Old 01-28-2010, 10:18 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LS4 Belt tensioner replacement... what a pain!!!

Ok guys, i dont post a whole lot here, but I just got finished removing the broken pieces of the belt tensioner on my Fiance's '05 GXP... Wow.. what a pain.. I'm an ex- Gm tech, but i never had the opportunity to work on one of the LS4's... The tensioner snapped off of the bracket, which of course ate the belt, and then ripped the Cam sensor wiring off with it.. Thankfully the cam sensor is still good, but the pigtail and plug are sompletely gone.. So, is this a common problem?? has anyone changed one of these? also, I read somewhere about using a prybar to change the belt instead of the Kent-Moore tool? What I'm really asking is, HELP!!!
Old 01-28-2010, 10:33 PM
12 Second Club

I can say that I havent read or seen anyone else with this problem...and this will be the first I heard of it at all...but thats just me...but usually all the guys on here are pretty dedicated to these cars and announcing the problems...but like i said...thats a new one to me...sorry i couldnt help...I do know you have to have the specialty tool for the hydrolic tentioner....I know its a different tentioner...thats all i know...
Old 01-29-2010, 02:24 AM
TECH Enthusiast

i had the same problem ..huge! pain in the ***! just let a shop deal wit it..
Old 01-29-2010, 08:04 AM
TECH Addict

Originally Posted by blakss
i had the same problem ..huge! pain in the ***! just let a shop deal wit it..
that would be what i would do ^^. just looking at where it is gave me an instant headache.
Old 01-29-2010, 09:05 AM
TECH Enthusiast

happened to me, while i was driving it sounded like a gun went off scared the **** out of me,
my next question to you is if your a "ex-gm tech" why in your post are you asking for help, ls4 or not your a ex gm tech, just a question