Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Fan relays

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2010, 08:35 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Fan relays

I have searched and read as many of the fan wiring threads as I can find. I am fairly new to taking on the electrical sides of vehicles and want to make sure I get this correct. I have a LQ4 in my '72 Nova with a Be Cool radiator and Be Cool dual 11" fans. I have a PCM from Speartech with wiring leads for the fans. I want to use 3 relays and have found a couple different wiring diagrams. What I haven't been able to find is specific information about the Relays. Like I said I am new to the electrical side of vehicles. Are there any specific relays I should be looking for or will any single pole relay work?

Thanks in advance
Old 03-30-2010, 08:45 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

yes, just make sure thay have enough rating for your use
Old 03-30-2010, 01:26 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Cheapest place to get fan relays is a pick and pull. If you are buying something else they will usually give you the relays for free. You can usually grab them off any POS ford in the yard with little or no effort. If you grab them off the fan of a Taurus then you know they are rated for the current.
Old 03-30-2010, 06:35 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by mikem77
I have searched and read as many of the fan wiring threads as I can find. I am fairly new to taking on the electrical sides of vehicles and want to make sure I get this correct. I have a LQ4 in my '72 Nova with a Be Cool radiator and Be Cool dual 11" fans. I have a PCM from Speartech with wiring leads for the fans. I want to use 3 relays and have found a couple different wiring diagrams. What I haven't been able to find is specific information about the Relays. Like I said I am new to the electrical side of vehicles. Are there any specific relays I should be looking for or will any single pole relay work?

Thanks in advance