Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

sliding and fishtailing

Old 01-05-2004, 10:18 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default sliding and fishtailing

so i'm new to the ls1, and having a little trouble getting used to the acceleration levels of such an engine (i previously owned a '97 v6 camaro). firstly, i noticed that the best place to learn is on an open, empty road, where spinning out of control, doing 360s, or even sliding off the road won't hurt you, the car, or others; although, i sure hope none of the above happen in any situation, nevertheless, it's best to take the necessary precautions.

having said those undoubtedly wise words, i learned this by doing the moronically obvious: accelerating on a somewhat tight road, and even worse, doing so at night. well, i began this extravaganza by taking a moderate corner at a moderate speed, putting the car in second, and giving it about half throttle. what i've just said isn't driving stupid-like either; i'm not a bad driver. but this was too unpredictable for me: the second i came around the curve, i began sliding towards the curb, and behind the curb, trees. it was strange; i have 275 tires, and wouldn't think i would have such a problem at such a low speed (~30 mph) in 2nd gear at half throttle. it was really cold out (kumho's suck in the cold), but it wasn't wet at all. and it wasn't a fishtail that happened - so turning into the slide would have been silly, and just gotten me closer to the curb at a quicker pace. obviously, the brakes wouldn't have been good, because i would probably have slid more. so, what did i do? i just let off the accelerator a little (still a little gas), just enough to slow myself down for the car to gain proper traction. well, it worked, but i was still scared that i slid.