LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

should i do it myself or take it to a mechanic?

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2010, 03:09 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default should i do it myself or take it to a mechanic?

ok so as of some ya know i been having a leak in my car that is pissin me off and i wanna take care of it asap.

i had my timming cover done twice already the leak dont seem to be coming from there! i have posted pics of how it looks and most told me it looks like the Water pump drive seal.
i did my valve cover gaskets just last week all myself.
this one looks more complicated but im set to go i just dont know what im getting in, i dont have much mechanic skill im a newbie at this mechanic game!

should i do this job too or should i just take it to a mechanic?
i can bet i can get it done with help from yall!
if ya can explain some steps and some hints to how to get to that seal or gasket!
also if theres is any place online where i can get the steps to get it done ill appreciate ya telling me the site so i can get it done!
pls feedback its my day of tommorrow and friday!
Old 05-13-2010, 03:16 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

As long as you don't follow a "boostedpower" methodology, I'd think you can tackle it yourself. We will be more than happy to walk you through the process. It is definitely more involved than your typical valve cover gasket fix though.
Old 05-13-2010, 07:04 AM
TECH Veteran

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

The only thing you learn by taking it to a mechanic, is how to write a check, and you probably already know how to do that. If you're truly interested in knowing how to work on your car, at some point you have to dive in, and start turnin' wrenches.