Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

towing package.. how to wire for it?

Old 06-04-2010, 07:23 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default towing package.. how to wire for it?

as the title reads,, I have a 2005 5.3 4l60e I have been runnning for a few months and a few k miles now, and I will like to wire my towing package, anybody know about how to achieve this?

thanks in advaced..
Old 06-05-2010, 09:21 AM
TECH Addict

Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts

If I understand what I have read and played with about that very thing, in factory form it sends a class 2 (OBD2) request to the PCM.

Non-technobabble answer: there isn't a switch you can ground or put power to and make it work with the factory program.

More technical answer: I was reading that IF you have access to true tuning software like HPT or EFILive (i.e. not a hand held) you can change the transmission setting to "one switch" or "two switches" and momentarily ground a pin to enable and disable performance / tow haul mode. I just found this and haven't researched it much or tested it and I don't know if there is a way to enable a light to let you know when you are in performance / tow haul mode without the BCM (Body Control Module). Of course if you had the BCM you could save yourself a lot of headaches and just pipe into that... but then you would need factory gauges to read the signal that the mode was enabled and so on, and so on...

I guess the real question is how far down the rabbit hole do you want to go?

Now that I have tuning software, I plan on trying this next time I have the computer out so I can add a few pins to the harness for other stuff I didn't know I couldn't do so I'll keep you posted.
Old 06-05-2010, 09:36 AM
sawzall wielding director

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts