Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Comp trunion upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2010, 09:52 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Comp trunion upgrade

So I was going to do this tonight, but can't find my snap ring pliers...
anyway, I bought an Arbor press at Harbor freight for $44.00.
This first pic shows a Harland rebuilt rocker on the left, stock on the right and the new comp trunions below.
The Harlands got oil starved in my last motor and the bearings are wasted.
Anyone have any tips or tricks to share?

Old 07-26-2010, 10:44 PM
Launching!

I just got done installing them in my motor, have had a chance to start it yet still waiting on a couple small parts... What kind of advice are you looking for??? install advice???
Old 07-27-2010, 06:38 AM
TECH Resident

Yes. Does it take a lot of force to press the bearings? Should I soak them in oil before I put them in the car? I'm a newb to this... What should I NOT do?
Old 07-27-2010, 07:23 AM
Teching In

I just put a set together, but haven't installed them in the car. With a press they go together fairly easy. The only thing I was concerned with was there is enough space between the snap rings, bearings, and trunion that if you don't press them on far enough, the rocker can slide side to side, if you press them on too far, it will drag when it pivots. Or it's possible to press it all the way against one snap ring and the rocker will be off center. I assume Harland puts the small washers under the snap rings to take up the slack, the comp kit doesn't come with them. I called Comp's tech line and they said they had never heard of a problem of the rockers moving around on the trunion, and I searched on here and didn't find anyone having problems. So, I just centered the rocker and pushed each bearing in far enough so it didn't move side to side and didn't bind. You'll get a feel for them after you put a few together. Oh, and I think they tell you to put the lettering on the bearings to the outside.