Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Some noob questions on my build...

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2010, 12:09 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Some noob questions on my build...

I apologize to all if these questions seem ridiculous, I am a bit of a noob to "real" engines (more than 4 cylinders).

I've got a '98 TA w/ about 80k miles on it that I've had about 6 months. Engine had a mild cam (don't know specs), some minor port work in the heads, and full exhaust when I bought it. I put in a K&N filter and SLP lid shortly after buying it.

Car is currently in the shop awaiting an engine, as I spun a rod bearing. Figuring that if I was going to spend the money for a rotating assembly anyway, I opted for a 383 kit (Callies 4.000" crank, rods, 3.905" stroke, unsure of what pistons are going in). The machine shop also finished porting the LS1 heads and is putting in a bigger cam (again, I don't know the exact specs, I asked what they've had good experiences with in their LS1/6 builds), along with new springs, rockers, retainers, etc.

As soon as I get more info on the cam, anticipated compression ratio, etc. I'll post it up, but for now my questions:

I'm shooting for 500 hp (conservatively) eventually, and from here I'm wondering where my money will be most effectively spent. I know I'll need to upgrade my fuel injectors, and I've been looking at a Walboro 255 in-tank fuel pump with a direct wiring kit, just not sure how big I'd actually need to go on the injectors. I'm thinking 42-46 lb/hr based on some equations I've been able to dig up, I'd just hate to buy a set and then need to bump up another size soon.